Homesick

Discussion in 'Past Life Memories' started by Born2Fly, Jun 3, 2008.

1. Born2Fly

Born2Fly New Member

Since I was about 8 years old, I've felt a very strong connection to Ireland. I first learned about the country in geography class and from the moment, I saw pictures of the rolling green hills in my text book.. I felt this sense of homesickness. Of course, at the time, being so young.. I didn't think about it. But, as I got older that feeling just increased when I'd see pictures of Ireland or hear Irish music. I started looking for more information on the country. I studied maps to remember where certain cities were located there, all the while still feeling as if I had been there before.

That longing seems to have gotten stronger as I've gotten older. I'm 26 now and seeing pictures of the Irish landscape (especially the Cliffs of Moher) still makes me feel homesick. At times, it brings me to tears to talk about it. It seems to affect me more in the spring time, for some reason. The best way I can explain it is when you look back at pictures taken of a favorite vacation spot, it fills you with happiness to think back of how much you enjoyed being there, but it gives you a sense of sadness to think you're not at that spot at that moment. That's how I feel about Ireland. I feel like it's been so long since I've set foot there, when actually.. I've never been outside of the US.

I literally ache to travel to Ireland. I've set a goal to get there before I'm 30. I really feel, in my heart, that when I do get there.. I'll find something that will explain why I feel this way about a country I've never been to. I've done research and learned that my maternal grandmother's maiden name was Irish. So, maybe there's some kind of link there.