• Thank you to Carol and Steve Bowman, the forum owners, for our new upgrade!

Historical Artists & their work

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gemeni

Senior Registered
I feel quite drawn to this period but haven't got around to investigating it yet (I'm quite new to all this and only just starting to piece things together).

A few years ago I had a very vivid dream, which I now think may be past life related. I was at Raphael's studio. I was there to be a figure (one of a group) to be painted. He was getting really agitated because people were calling him Raphael and he kept insisting "No, no. It's Raffaello!". I knew nothing about him at the time, but when I checked it up the following morning I found that was how he prefered to be known!!

I haven't started to investigate his work yet to see if I can spot myself. That could be really weird! I remember that there were a lot of heavy green drapes around, so maybe that'll give me a clue to go on.

Russian Icon Painter - Early 1400's

I was born in Russia in the early 1400's - to a middle class family. My father was very religious and we didn't get along too well. I was sent to the Netherlands to a school at about age 15 - to learn with the Masters. I became a painter - painting walls and small icons.. images for the Church. They were my biggest patron at the time. No one famous - that I can tell - just another painter who sometimes slipped in symbols against the churches ideas and without them realizing it! ;) I am still looking -for my work. Haven't run across it yet. I have a feeling - I ended up in Spain. Someday I hope to go there and visit their museums.

I work large now - 6 foot by 4 foot mostly. This past year I did a few small self portraits of me as a child. 6 inches by 8 inches. Oh the pain! I remember - the detail - the tiny tiny images of icon painting. What surprised me most?? How easy it was so for me do!

This post and discussion is continued in the thread Russian lifetime?